Ιn 2007 the Melina Mercouri Foundation established the monetary «Melina Mercouri Theater Award». This award is conferred annually for best performance to a young female actress distinguished in the preceding theater season.


Along with the monetary prize, the actress receives Melina Mercouri’s brooch which she passes on to the next recipient of the award.


The Members of the Committee of the Melina Mercouri Theater Award are: Magia Liberopoulou, President, Dio Kagelari, Matina Kaltaki, Dimitris Lignadis and Reni Pittaki.